Where’s the prof. development for administrators in higher ed?

Not really sure where I’m going with this post, and we shall see where I end up. Warning, there will be a LOT of ‘maybes’ and ‘perhaps’ in this post.

I’m going to describe a couple things that have popped into head over the past few weeks. Some of these rants may have a ‘what about me tone’; however, I have been learning that one has to start thinking about oneself at some point. 

Over the past year, many organizations in higher ed have started rolling out various initiatives to promote diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI). Some of these initiatives include: developing STEM research programs; establishing mentoring programs for undergrads, grads, and postdocs, and faculty; intensifying recruiting efforts by collaborating or establishing connections with Historically Black Colleges & Universities (HBCUs), Hispanic Serving Institutions (HSIs), and other Minority Serving Institutions (MSIs). Since I have a background in STEM, I will focus more on those that will have an impact in education with an emphasis in STEM. Although everyone (potential & current students, faculty, deans, college presidents, advisory boards, etc.) will have to work together to ensure that these DEI initiatives are successful, at the end of the day administrators will have to do a significant chunk of the work. Often times, these administrators do not receive any recognition for their efforts. Then again . . . I guess it is a part of the job. 

From speaking with other administrators and through my own personal experience, professional development is one area that goes unfilled for many administrators. For example, there are many efforts to help folks from underrepresented backgrounds (and folks who are not from these backgrounds) develop key skills that will help them expand their career options (e.g. careers outside of Academia), become competitive for other programs in higher education (e.g. moving from undergrad to graduate education), and facilitate  the transition to the next level in an academic career (e.g. postdoctoral fellowships to tenure track positions), and countless others. However, I’ve noticed that very few (if any) of these initiatives focus on the professional development of administrators that are already working in higher education. It is true that one can take additional courses or attend conferences that may have a positive impact on the career trajectory of an administrator. However, I have not seen or heard of many structural programs that do this positively affect the professional trajectory of an administrator.

  • Maybe I’m looking in the wrong places for such opportunities.
  • Perhaps, administrators must constantly remind their supervisors/bosses of their desire to advance within their institutions.

After doing a quick search through LinkedIn, it seems like many low to midlevel administrators stay in their current positions 1 – 5 years then move to what they hope will be greener pastures. Kind of like a wash, rinse, and repeat cycle. I personally have spoken to several folks that have left positions because there was no room for growth or there was no discussions about such pathways to grow within a university or department. 

Maybe administrators just are not seen as important or impactful members of the academic community. Think about – undergraduate students pay tuition; and graduate students, postdoctoral fellows, and faculty conduct research that contribute to a university’s profile, which brings in money. Perhaps, the powers that be only see administrators as supporting cast members.

A quick snapshot of my experience. After receiving a doctorate in the biomedical sciences with a concentration in molecular oncology & immunology, I did a postdoc and simultaneously worked as an adjunct assistant professor, became as a senior scientist in Industry, then did a “crazy” thing and moved into administration in higher education. Although I have been in my role for a few years, sometimes I feel as if my career in this realm has stalled a bit. I completely understand that a lot of this falls on me for not speaking up or discussing my needs to (the right) people about my professional development or path. At every turn, there seem to be mechanisms for professional growth and development for students and faculty, but nothing for administrators. Maybe this hits home for me, because part of my administrative role is to create and/or support such opportunities for students and to some extent faculty.

Coming from a biomedical background, I felt that I was constantly learning new things, but that’s no longer the case. Maybe, I’m being a bit dramatic. Of course, I have been taking some online courses relating to project management, research administration, coding, social media engagement, etc. Honestly,  I’m not sure if these courses has had (or will have) any impact on my career progression. My scores on performance reviews probably would have been the same with or without these courses. For some reason, I have the constantly feeling of not doing enough. But, on the other hand, I’m constantly asking myself what else do I need to do to advance in this newish profession. I mean, I have a doctorate in the biomedical sciences; I’ve worked as a scientist in industry; I’ve taught at the undergraduate level; and I’ve been an administrator in higher ed for three years. What else does one need to do? With the exception of being a tenured professor or a dean of something, I think that I have spent time in pretty much all levels of Academia.

Many times when I’m in a meeting with other administrators to discuss how to improve access to STEM education for folks from underrepresented backgrounds, I’m the only one in the room who as a doctorate in a STEM discipline. Let’s fix that. I’m the only Black person in the room who has a doctorate in a STEM discipline. Do not get me wrong, I am not trying to diss other administrators who do not have STEM doctorates because they too bring a great toolbox of skills and experiences for DEI initiatives in STEM. However, the few Black and Brown midlevel administrators with STEM doctorates that I have spoken to over the past year or so have expressed similar feelings. This feeling of having all of these educational and academic experiences, feeling like they are not going anywhere in administration but do not know where to go next. The fact that others feel the same why must mean that I’m not a whiner . . .  or maybe it means that we are all whiners. 😉

Ok, this is getting long. I guess that I need to get my act together and figure out how to thrive in this newish profession. 

A few action plans:

1. Develop a professional plan and actually discuss it with people who matter. I thought that I was doing this, but I guess that I need to “discuss” it louder. I have to take some advice from James Brown (RIP) – SAY IT LOUD AND PROUD. 

Let me make this even longer and expand on this point. As a Black man who worked in a STEM discipline where there are very few Black men, I have been very cautious (maybe too cautious) about not to making too many waves for fear of being classified as an ‘angry Black man’. From my experiences as graduate student, a postdoctoral fellow, and a senior scientist, nearly every move that I have made or everything I have said has been dissected under a microscope. If I speak up about something, then I’m too loud or too aggressive. If I do not agree with something or correct someone who’s in the wrong, then I’m being uncooperative. After years and years of dealing with this, you (well, some) become silent, start going with the flow and staying the course in hopes that everything will work out. Sometimes, I feel like I’m damned if I do and damned if I don’t. I think that I need to reclaim some of the traits of 23 year old Kwame back when I constantly said what was on my mind. He is probably still in there, but I think that I have to wake him up because he has been hitting the snooze button for far too long. 

2. Actively find more mentors, supporters, and promoters.

3. Start putting myself first. For example, I schedule all of my daily reoccurring tasks in my calendar (e.g. checking emails, planning events for the program I direct, meeting students, budget reconciliation). At one point, professional development was scheduled in my calendar. In fact, it was scheduled on Fridays from 4 pm to 5:30. Whenever I needed to squeeze in a meeting, I would put it in the professional development slot. I guess I should stop doing this because I need to realize the professional development is a part of my job. . . . or make it a part of my job. If not me, then who?

4. Lose some weight. Eh, I figure that I throw in something lighthearted. Actually, I would not my going back to the weight of 25 year old Kwame. 😉  

5. Figure out what additional experiences I need to get under under my belt to move up in the admin world. Cleary, with my educational and professional background in the biomedical sciences, my undergraduate teaching experiences, volunteer service to multiple organizations, I’m still missing something.

Further Reading:

Professional Development in Higher Education Survey (Link: ***)

There Are So Few That Have Made Their Way – Chronicles of Higher Education (Link: ***)

Where Are the Career Paths for Staff on Campus? – The Chronicle of Higher Education (Link: ***)

Leave a comment